Info and enlightenment for the everyday witch

Unreachable


“Unreachable”

The moon shines in the sky so bright

as I sit in this sacred place,

My head looks up to the stars on this night

they spill their light on my solemn face.

Sadness takes over from the depths of my soul

as I look at the sky above,

For in that sky, so dark and so big

lie the beautiful stars that I love.

I reach so far with all that I have

to catch a star so bright,

Despite my efforts I can never reach it

I will never touch its beautiful light.

Once again, I will settle for

simply gazing at my hearts desire,

But when the night is gone and time is up

my tears will burn like fire.

I can not tell the stars of my pain

my secret will always burn my soul,

If I tell them what I think,

they will shy away and hide their magnificent glow.

Still gazing up through watery eyes

I blink away a heavy tear,

I’ll not tell my stars of my feelings for them

instead, I will live in fear.

Because seeing them some is better than

not seeing them at all,

But as long as my stars shine down on me

I will feel so very small.

Blessed be friends,

Megan

12 responses

  1. this was refreshing. that’s a good thing.

    October 20, 2010 at 4:00 am

  2. Well thank you very much!

    October 20, 2010 at 4:18 am

  3. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 31 (October 21-27) | Jingle

  4. Very nice write, thank you for sharing.

    October 20, 2010 at 4:57 pm

  5. breath taking.
    love reading your work.

    October 21, 2010 at 12:32 am

    • Thank you so much everyone!

      October 21, 2010 at 2:58 am

  6. beautiful… love the line “f I tell them what I think, they will shy away and hide their magnificent glow.” How many of us are afraid the universe will shrink away from us if it could see what we really thought. Confusion and self-deprecation take over. And we swallow our pain. Or pain is pushed down. And we walk out to face the day.

    October 21, 2010 at 3:50 am

  7. Wow, despite how down you sounded in this poem, you still put the feeling of your stars before yours…great attitude..

    Cheers!

    October 21, 2010 at 7:54 am

  8. Beautiful poem.Loved it!

    October 21, 2010 at 3:44 pm

  9. Because seeing them some is better than

    not seeing them at all, – so true, lovely and heartfelt. http://suzicatepoetry.wordpress.com/2010/10/24/only-in-the-silence/

    October 24, 2010 at 12:49 am

  10. Beautiful poem..Love the way you express your feelings for stars…

    October 24, 2010 at 8:25 am

  11. every of the lines here were stunning 🙂 Loved the thoughts and the flow of the poem !

    October 26, 2010 at 12:29 am

Leave a Reply

